About Milton County, Georgia

Milton County, Georgia is an extinct county. It was created on December 18, 1857 from parts of northeastern Cobb, southeastern Cherokee, and southwestern Forsyth counties. It was created in order to have a more accessible county seat. Milton County was Georgia's 121st county.

The original boundaries were defined by an act of the General Assembly. (see: Ga. Laws 1857, p. 36).

Milton County was known for it's rich farming land and abundant, rich and high-quality cotton crops. It's residents were known for experimenting with their crops to develop finer quality and higher yields of cotton.

Alpharetta was the county seat until the end of 1931, when Milton was merged with Fulton County. The city of Alpharetta was incorporated and designated the county seat on December 11, 1858. It evolved from New Prospect Campground which consisted of Methodist settlements of tents and other temporary housing. The name 'Alpharetta' is Greek for 'First Town'.

Milton County was merged with Fulton County January 1, 1932. Because the economy of the county was primarily dependent on cotton it was vulnerable to weather. With the infestations of the boil weevil in the 1910s and 1920s and then the Depression of the 1930s, the county became destitute. Milton County was merged with Fulton County in order for the county residents to benefit from the more stable economy of Fulton County. At the same time the town of Roswell (Cobb County) and Campbell County were also ceded to Fulton County. This gave Fulton it's 70-mile long irregular shape along the Chattahoochee River. The cession of Roswell (including verything east of Willeo Creek) was necessary to make the new county contiguous.

Milton County was named for John Milton (circa 1740 - 1817), Georgia's first secretary of state (1777 - 1799), who was elected three times. He was a candidate for and received 2 electoral votes for President of the United Sates in 1789. A lieutenant colonel in the Revolutionary War, he is credited with saving and preserving the state's official records during the British occupation. During the American Revolution, Milton served in the First Georgia Regiment and later as aide-de-camp to Gen. Benjamin Lincoln and Col. Francis Marion. In late 1779 or early 1780, fearing British capture of the state's records, Milton had them transferred to Charleston, then to New Bern, North Carolina, and finally to Maryland. More about John Milton.

Some say Milton County was named for Homer V. Milton, a descendant of John Milton and a General in the War of 1812.

In recent years, some residents unhappy with the distribution of Fulton County's municipal services between urban Atlanta and their northern suburbs have sought to re-create Milton County, consisting of Roswell, Alpharetta, and Mountain Park. A bill before the Georgia General Assembly in 2005 proposes to include Sandy Springs as well, and rename the remainder of Fulton County as "Atlanta County". The state's constitution, however, now prohibits any more than 159 counties, the number it has had since the merger in 1932. Any change would require a constitutional amendment, supported by two-thirds of each house in the state legislature, and by over half of all voters statewide in a referendum.


Original County Boundaries as defined by Ga. Laws 1857, p. 36

"To commence at Grogan's Ferry on the Chattahoochee river, run a straight line to the northeast corner of the incorporation of the city of Roswell, leaving the incorporation in Cobb county, thence along the line of said incorporation west to the Marietta road, thence making said Marietta road the line to the bridge on the Big Willow Creek, in Cobb county, thence up said creek to its head waters, to lot No. 34 on the west line of the first district and second section, thence due north along said district line to where the line strikes Little river, thence up said river to the fork of said Little river, thence up the west fork along its meandering to the north line of lot No. 196 in the second district and second section, thence in a straight line to lot No. 181 in the second district and second section, Forsyth and Cherokee county line, thence due south along the county line between Forsyth and Cherokee counties to the north-west corner of the first district of the first section of Forsyth county, thence due east along the north line of said district to where it crosses the McGinis Ferry road, thence making said McGinis Ferry road the line to McGinis Ferry on Chattahoochee river, by leaving the residence of Joel Strickland in the county of Forsyth, thence making the Chattahoochee river the boundary line to the starting point at Grogan's Ferry on Chattahoochee river.



Beth Shaw


The information contained on this website is submitted by volunteers and is not intended for commercial use. All information on this site remains the property of the submitter.

Unauthorized use of content in this website is strictly prohibited.

Copyright 2005 [ Beth Shaw ]. All rights reserved.